page top

DE   EN   | FONT: A    A+   A++ | CONTRAST +|
Linz - Life
City of Linz - Homepage
 » Democracy » Democracy »  »  » Startseite


City Council

The Linz City Council consists of 61 members, who bear the title City Councilor. The members are elected by Austrian citizens and EU citizens whose primary residence is in Linz. The current City Council was elected in 2015; a period of legislature lasts six years. Since the election in 2015, the local council is composed of the following parties:

  • SPÖ 20 seats
  • FPÖ 16 seats
  • ÖVP 12 seats
  • Green 9 seats
  • NEOS 3 seat
  • KPÖ 1 seat

City Senate

Each of the eight members of the City Senate is responsible for a specific sector of business.

Members of the City Senate

Mayor of Linz

He represents the city to the outside and is responsible for conducting the business of the city as the head of city administration.

More about the Mayor of Linz

Linz in numbers

The brochure "Linz in numbers" offers a vast range of facts and figures about Linz.

More about "Linz in numbers"



Magistrat Linz
Hauptstraße 1-5
4041  Linz

phone: +43 732 7070 0
fax: +43 732 7070 54 2110

further information: