page top

DE   EN   IT   FR   ES   CZ   | FONT: A    A+   A++ | CONTRAST +|
Linz - Tourism
City of Linz - Homepage
 » Landhaus »  » Stroll through Linz » Sightseeing and Features »  »  » Startseite


This magnificent renaissance building was erected in the 16th century on the site of the Monastery of the Friars Minor and is today the seat of the Upper Austrian provincial government. The lower part of the tower dates back to 1568, the upper part having been added in 1638. Visitors can climb the tower as part of a special guided tour of the city. Nor should the visitor fail to drop in on the Italianate arcaded courtyard with the Planetenbrunnen (Fountain of the Planets), a reminder of Johannes Kepler who taught in the Protestant district school here for 14 years.  


Linz City Tourist Board
4020  Linz

phone: +43 732 7070 2009
fax: +43 732 7070 54 2009

further information: