City Council

The City Council of Linz is elected for a period of six years by citizens of Austria and of other EU nations who are at least 16 years old and whose main place of residence is Linz. It consists of 61 members – the Municipal Councilors – and is the highest political body of the city. All of the other organs of the city government are responsible to it. Its meetings, which generally take place every month in the hall of the City Council in the Old City Hall, are open to the public. The current composition of the City Council of Linz was determined in the election of 27. September 2015. The seats are divided as follows:

Chart of the current composition of the City Council of Linz


The political parties in the city council of Linz

SPÖ – Sozialdemokratische Partei Österreichs (Social Democratic Party of Austria)
District organization Linz-Stadt, Landstraße 36, 4020 Linz
Tel.: 0732-7726-2000

FPÖ – Freiheitliche Partei Österreichs (Freedom Party of Austria)
District Linz Group, Franckstraße 68, 4020 Linz
Tel.: +43 732 736426 26

ÖVP – Österreichische Volkspartei (Austrian People’s Party)
ÖVP Linz Stadt, Obere Donaulände 7, 4010 Linz
Tel.: +43 732 7620500

Die Grünen Linz (The Greens of Linz)
Altstadt 22a, 4020 Linz
Tel.: +43 732 739444 0

Tel.: +43 677 61236089

KPÖ – Kommunistische Partei (Communist Party of Austria)
Provincial organization for Upper Austria, Melicharstraße 8, 4020 Linz
Tel.: +43 732 652156